New LRT stations to open in Puchong

With the opening of the IOI Puchong Jaya, Pusat Bandar Puchong, Taman Perindustrian Puchong and Bandar Puteri stations, there will be a total of eight LRT stations along the Sri Petaling Line.

Prasarana president and group chief executive officer Datuk Azmi Abdul Aziz said the new stations were expected to draw commuters as the stations were equipped with excellent park-and-ride facilities.

“It is still premature to have a target of ridership,” Azmi said after visiting the IOI Puchong Jaya LRT station yesterday.

The first four stations – Awan Besar, Muhibbah, Alam Sutera and Kinrara BK5 – were opened on Oct 31 last year.

Members of the media had the chance to view the newly constructed LRT stations ahead of its opening.

Puchong residents will be delighted to know that the IOI Puchong Jaya station has 470 parking bays, universal access facilities for the disabled and the elderly, and facilities such as surau, toilets, escalators and elevators.

The parking facilities are available at all LRT stations except for the Bandar Puteri station, which only has drop-off points because of space limitation.

Fares from the IOI Puchong Jaya LRT station starts from RM1.40.

The remaining three stations in the Sri Petaling Line — Puchong Perdana, Puchong Prima and Putra Heights — will be opened together with all 12 stations under the Kelana Jaya Line Extension Project in June.

The new and extended Kelana Jaya Line will run from the existing Kelana Jaya LRT Station through Lembah Subang, Ara Damansara, Glenmarie, Subang Jaya and USJ towards Putra Heights.

“Like all the 12 new stations under the Kelana Jaya Line, the Puchong Perdana, Puchong Prima and Putra Heights stations are currently in the final phase of construction and are undergoing the finishing touches,” said Azmi.

Land Public Transport Commission chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar was also present at the event. - The Star